Skip To Main Content

Logo

Header Holder

Header Pop Up multi panel

Sticky Header

Landing Navigation

Breadcrumb

Humanities (ELA/Social Science)

Humanities

Grade Level:  6, 7, 8
Description: Humanities is a 2 period course that meets a student's English and History course requirements.  These grade level courses integrate a students reading, writing, listening, with the grade level history content.  Students understand the connection between courses and how things interact in the real world. 

English 6, 7, 8

Grade Level: 6, 7, 8
Prerequisite: None
Length: Two semesters
Description: English 6, 7, and 8 provide a literacy-based program, which promotes self-confidence in reading, writing, speaking, and listening. Skill building through the writing process, a focus on combining paragraphs into essays, and comprehension of literature and various genres of reading material are emphasized. A Career Education objective will be included in these courses.

English 7, 8 Advanced

Grade Level: 7, 8
Prerequisite: Multiple data points will be used to determine placement
Length: Two semesters
Description: This course is designed to meet the needs of seventh grade students with well-developed language and reading skills. The course’s focus on the Common Core strands of Reading Literature, Reading for Information, Writing, Language, and Speaking/Listening will be interwoven with critical thinking, communication, collaboration, and creativity, affording the student the opportunity to engage in a wider range of reading and to develop upper level thinking, reading, and writing skills. The curriculum moves at a faster pace with a more concentrated focus. Extended learning activities will require students to increase their use of critical thinking skills to include analysis, synthesis, and problem solving.

Social Studies 6

Grade Level: 6
Prerequisite: None
Length: Two semesters
Description: 

World History 7

Grade Level: 7
Prerequisite: None
Length: Two semesters
Description: This course will focus on the study of the social, cultural, and technological changes that occurred in Europe, Africa, Asia, and the Americas in the years 1200 BC – 1789 AD. A Career Education objective will be included in this course.

U.S. History 8

Grade Level: 7
Prerequisite: None
Length: Two semesters
Description: This course will focus on the study of the ideas, issues, and events from the founding of the nation through the Industrial Revolution. Career Education objectives will be included in this course.

Department Staff

Phil Angel
pangel@slcusd.org
Subjects: Humanities 8 ADV


Angela Avila
aavila@slcusd.org
Subjects: Humanities 7


Lucinda Brown
librown@slcusd.org
Subjects: Humanities 6, 8


Caroline Cotta
ccotta@slcusd.org
Subjects: Humanities 6
Visit Website


Cole Coward
ccoward@slcusd.org
Subjects: Humanities 7


Melissa Jacquay
mjacquay@slcusd.org
Subjects: Humanities 7/8


Joe Kirschner
jkirschner@slcusd.org
Subjects: Humanities 6


Faye Padayachee
fpadayachee@slcusd.org
Subjects: Humanities 8


Brooke Segler
bsegler@slcusd.org
Subjects: Humanities 7/7 ADV
Visit Website


Ellie Tyner
etyner@slcusd.org
Subjects: Humanities 8